## ITEM 136-102-R0707 Certification of election results regarding organization of community college district in Ravalli County and election of trustees

- THAT: The Coordinator of Community College Districts, Dr. Arlene Parisot, hereby certifies to the Montana Board of Regents of Higher Education the results of an election for the organization of a community college district in Ravalli County to be known as the Bitterroot Valley Community College District and the results of an election for trustees for said community college district.
- **EXPLANATION:** Montana law provides for a process for organization of new community college districts in which the Board of Regents authorizes elections for such organization and exercises oversight over the process. Section 20-15-209, MCA, provides that to carry, the proposal to organize a community college district must receive a majority of the total number of votes cast thereon, and the coordinator of community college districts, from the results so certified and attested by the local school districts, shall determine whether the proposal has received the majority of the votes cast thereon and shall certify the results to the regents.

Attached to this item are the certified results of the community college election held in Ravalli County May 8, 2007. The organization of a community college district was approved by a majority of the votes cast. The vote was 3037 votes in favor of organization and 2840 against organization.

Montana law provides for the election of seven community college district trustees and for the designation of terms as follows: the three trustees receiving the greatest number of votes shall be elected for terms of 3 years; the two receiving the next greatest number of votes, for a term of 2 years; and the two receiving the next greatest number of votes, for a term of one year. I have determined, from the election results certified and attested by the Ravalli County school boards of trustees, the following elected trustees:

Trustees elected to 3 year terms: Douglas C. Bower, Greg Seltzer, Patricia Furniss. Trustees elected to 2 year terms: John W. Robinson and AnnaVee Brandborg. Trustees elected to 1 year terms: Jack Michael Eggensperger and Deborah Rogala.

ATTACHMENT: Community College Coordinator's Certification of Community College Election, Ravalli County