2008-R-04

Yes: <u>18</u> No: <u>0</u> Abs: <u>0</u> Passed: 9/25/2008

Sponsors:Bovard Tiberi
Nicholas Ross-Dick

Intent: To express support in placing a \$3.50 per semester fee for the sole purpose of creating and funding a committee within the Associated Students of Montana State University (ASMSU) dedicated to promoting and implementing sustainable practices, including recycling, at Montana State University (MSU), on the Fall 2008 ballot;

Whereas: The awareness for the need of sustainable practices has increased dramatically in recent years;

Whereas: As of the last academic year, MSU had no campus-wide recycling programs;

Whereas: The current campus-wide recycling program is temporarily funded by the Office of the President, Full Circle Recycling and Facilities Services;

Whereas: The current Sustainability Chair's recommendation includes the collection of \$70,000 per year from the students to use for sustainability efforts, including the admonition of a campus-wide recycling program;

Whereas: A fee of \$3.50 per semester fee would collect approximately \$70,000 a year;

Whereas: This fee would be added to the ASMSU general fee, and as such would be indexed, however the entirety of the fee and a representative proportion of any increases in the ASMSU general fee due to indexing would be earmarked expressly for the aforementioned committee and would be budgeted to said committee during ASMSU budgeting;

Therefore Let It Be Resolved: That the ASMSU stands in support of placing a \$3.05 per semester fee for the promoting and implementation of sustainable practices at MSU on the Fall 2008 ballot;

Therefore Let It Be Further Resolved: That a copy of this resolution be sent to the ASMSU Administration, ASMSU Attorney Phyllis Bock, Director of Student Activities Patty Inskeep, President Geoff Gamble, Vice-President for Student Affairs Allen Yarnell, and the *Exponent*.

ASMSU

Associated Students of Montana State University

Election Results Fall 2008

Senators (On-Campus)

Blake Bjornson- 498 Emily Stockley-476

Senators (Off-Campus)

Ashlee Robeson- 514
Jessica Payne- 513
Justin Folsom- 430
Michael Lavell- 426
Renee Moreland
Geoffry Willhardt
Jacob M. Leckie
Galen Emery

Senator (Family/Graduate Housing)

David Dunbar- 58 John Spurvey

Senator (Greek)

Mark Eggensperger- 91

Senator (At-Large)

Ryan Early- 692 Jon Sand

Student Organization Fee Referendum

FOR the \$3.00 fee increase- 1441 AGAINST the \$3.00 fee increase - 886

Sustainability Fee Referendum

FOR the \$3.50 fee increase- 1471 AGAINST the \$3.50 fee increase - 865