

Montana University System

BOARD OF REGENTS OF HIGHER EDUCATION

2500 Broadway PO Box 203101 Helena, MT 59601 (406) 444-6570 www.montana.edu/wwwbor/

American Indian Heritage Day **September 24, 2010**

Article X, section 1(2), of the Montana Constitution recognizes the distinct and unique cultural heritage of American Indians and commits the state in its educational goals to the preservation of their cultural integrity.

In acknowledgement of our constitutional and educational responsibility for full participation in Indian Education for All Montana, MCA 20-1-501, we hereby acknowledge the importance of Montana's American Indian history and culture. The histories and cultures of American Indians are an integral part of the history of the nation and the State of Montana. The Montana Legislature has recognized that all Montanans have an invaluable opportunity for cultural enrichment through contact with the culture and philosophy of American Indians.

As we begin this academic year, we emphasize to all in the Montana University System that the Montana Legislature in 1997 passed a law designating the fourth Friday of September as "American Indian Heritage Day." This legislative action grants American Indian Heritage Day the same commemorative status as Columbus Day, Lincoln's and Washington's birthdays, and Flag Day.

The campuses of the Montana University System are charged with conducting appropriate exercises commemorating the role of Indians in Montana's past and present.

We hereby affirm the celebration of this day in significant ways across the campuses of the Montana University System, and commend the celebration of this day throughout the state of Montana.

RESOLUTION

OF HIGHER EDUCATION **CLAYTON CHRISTIAN**

BOARD OF REGENTS

Chair Missoula

IANINE PEASE VICE CHAIR Poplar

LYNN MORRISON-HAMILTON Havre

ANGELA MCLEAN ANACONDA

STEPHEN BARRETT Bozeman

TODD BUCHANAN Billings

TERESA BORRENPOHL Student Regent Bpzeman

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

SHEILA M STEARNS Commissioner of Higher Education

BRIAN SCHWEITZER Governor

DENISE JUNEAU Superintendent of Public Instruction

Clayton Christian

Chairman Board of Regents

Sheila M. Stearns

Commissioner of Higher Education

MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY - Campuses at Billings, Bozeman, Great Falls, and Havre THE UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA - Campuses at Butte, Dillon, Helena, and Missoula Dawson Community College (Glendive) - Flathead Valley Community College (Kalispell) - Miles Community College (Miles City)