

Office of the President

The University of Montana Missoula, MT 59812-3324

Office: (406) 243-2311 FAX: (406) 243-2797

**DATE:** 27 August 2010

TO: Board of Regents

**FROM:** G. M. Dennison, President

RE: Campus Report for the September 2010 Board of Regents' Meeting

- Three UM students received Fulbright U.S. Student scholarships for the 2010-11 Academic Year.
  The University's newest Fulbright Scholars are Henry Bundy, Anthropology, the Netherlands; Ellen Cheng, Ecology, Mongolia; and Shane McMillan, Journalism, Germany.
- Juniors Taylor Healy and Kurt Schiedermayer each finished ahead of nearly 500 other Army ROTC cadets in their regiments in the Army Physical Fitness Test, held this summer as part of cadet training at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Wash. The test, measuring strength and endurance, consists of sit-ups, push-ups, and a two-mile run. Healy, a Sociology major, placed at the top of his 468-person regiment, and Schiedermayer, a Forestry major, placed at the top of his 445-person regiment.
- Assistant Professor Josh Lawrence received one of 40 New Investigator Research Grants from the Alzheimer's Association. Lawrence's research advances understanding of the consequences of selective nerve cell death in the early stages of Alzheimer's disease and how those consequences may affect brain function.
- Perry Brown, Dean of the College of Forestry and Conservation and Interim Associate Provost for Graduate Education, received a Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units Network National Award for his role in pioneering and sustaining the innovative partnership program for conservation science and education.
- Washington Post reporter Eli Saslow will be the 2010 T. Anthony Pollner Distinguished Professor in the School of Journalism Fall Semester. He will teach a seminar on reporting and writing and will serve as a mentor for the staff of the *Montana Kaimin*. Saslow, the school's 10th Pollner professor, will deliver the T. Anthony Pollner public lecture on 18 October.
- Four outstanding University of Montana graduates will receive 2010 Distinguished Alumni Awards, the Alumni Association's highest honor, during UM Homecoming festivities in September. This year's award recipients are John Badgley, Patrick Cheney, Joseph P. Mazurek, and Brig. Gen. Colleen L. McGuire.
- The Department of Computer Science received accreditation through 2013 from the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) and the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC).
- The School of Psychology received accreditation through 31 December 2014 from the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP).
- The Schools of Art and Media Arts received accreditation from the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD).
- The University of Montana broke its Summer Semester record enrollment with 4,177 students registered this year. UM also set a new record for full-time equivalent students, which hit 1,426 this summer. Of the 4,177 students registered for Summer Semester, 3,683 were enrolled at the University's mountain campus and 494 at UM's College of Technology.
- The University of Montana once again ranked as one the top four-year colleges and universities in North America. The 2011 edition of the Princeton Review's, "The Best 373 Colleges," was released Aug. 3. The rankings are based on surveys of more than 122,000 undergraduate students.