1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	The Associated Students of The University of Montana Resolution Regarding Referendum Language for Student Group Fee March 14, 2012 Senate Bill Number: SB39-11/12 Authored by: Jenifer Gursky, ASUM President, and Asa Hohman, ASUM Senator Sponsored by: Jeremiah Riddel, Music Union President; Travis Suzuki, ASUM Senator; Jeff Edmunds, ASUM Vice President; Slater Henkel, University Choir President; and Richard LeCoultre, Student-at-Large, Topher Williams, ASUM Senator, and Anna Kendall, ASUM Sports Union President		
11 12	Whereas, the ASUM Senate experienced significant operational budget shortfalls during the fiscal years of 2011 and 2012;		
13 14 15	Whereas, the ASUM Senate, during 2013 fiscal year budgeting withdrew funding from zero-base funds, decreased recommended amounts from ASUM agencies and funded only 11% of student group requests;		
16 17			
18 19	Therefore, Let It Be Resolved that the following proposed increase will account for a 15% non-negotiable obligation of the student activity fee to fund ASUM recognized student groups;		
20 21	Therefore, Let It Be Further Resolved that the following language be submitted to the April 202 elections:		
22 23 24 25 26	"The Associated Students of The University of Montana currently has a \$33.00 Activity Fee it uses to fund its staff, operations, agencies and student group activities. ASUM proposes to increase its current fee by \$6 to provide for much needed student group, music union and sports union funding. This 15% increase will exclusively be reserved for student group funding as a non-negotiable obligation of the student activity fee.		
27 28 29	Do you support an increase of \$6 to the ASUM fee for student group activities?		
30	Yes, I support a \$6 student group fee increase.		
31 32	No, I do not support a \$6 student group fee increase."		
33			
34 35 36	Passed by Committee:, 2012		

37 38	Passed by ASUM Senate:	, 2012	
39	1 asset by ASOM Schate.		
40			
41			
42			
43			
44	Travis Suzuki,	Jeff Edmunds,	
45	Relations and Affairs Chair	Chair of the Senate	