CAMPUS REPORT | Board of Regents Meeting | May 22-23, 2014 | Havre



MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY | BILLINGS

Elizabeth Mullins, a junior Biology major/Chemistry minor, was named as MSU Billings' first Goldwater Scholar recipient. The scholarship is the most prestigious and competitive in the country for students in the STEM fields. Her current research is in pathogenic fungi, aiming to better understand the regulatory pathways that could aid in the development of targeted broad-spectrum anti-fungal therapies. The research is funded by a grant from MT-INBRE and the National Institutes of Health.

The Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society was established at MSUB to recognize and honor college student athletes who earn a varsity letter in at least one sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA throughout their junior and senior year – 42 student-athletes were inducted in this year's class. Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at City College was formed to acknowledge academic excellence among students in two-year programs. 48 were inducted in this year's class.

Dr. Paul Foster, MSUB International Studies Director and a doctoral graduate of Slavic Cultures from Columbia University, delivered a community lecture, "Roots of the Current Ukraine-Russia Crisis," exploring the complicated issues facing the people of Ukraine, the international community and the Unites States.

The first annual MSUB Undergraduate Research and Creativity Conference featured artistic, creative and research presentations. This premier event provided undergraduates from both the City College and the University campus an opportunity to highlight their research and/or creative works.

MSUB Alumni Association honored six leading graduates during the 32nd annual Outstanding Alumni Awards. Dr. Thomas Powell, President of Mount St. Mary's University was honored as The Distinguished Alumnus. Lenette Kosovich, Executive Director of Rimrock Foundation was honored with the Alumni Merit Medallion. Joe Harrington, Tom Ferro and Gayle Carter were recognized for their Exceptional Achievement. Finally, Brent Roberts was presented with the Ronald P. Sexton Award for Professional Commitment to the University. At the MSUB Yellowjacket Athletics Hall of Fame & Distinction Ceremony, three former student-athletes and a long-time supporter were recognized. The four new members include Dr. Jim Elliott, Heidi Lehman, Pryor Orser and Dr. Megan (Plank) Holden.

MSUB Men's & Women's Basketball teams were well represented when the GNAC awards were named. The women placed 2nd in the NCAA Division II West Region Tournament. Women BB: Bobbi Knudsen, Player of the Year & 1st Team All-Conference; Janiel Olson, Defensive Player of the Year & 1st Team All-Conference; Chelsea Banis, Newcomer of the Year & Honorable Mention All-Conference; Kayleen Goggins, Honorable Mention All-Conference; and Head Coach, Kevin Woodin, Coach of the Year. Men BB: Kalob Hatcher, 2nd Team All-Conference; Jon Mesghna, Newcomer of the Year & Honorable Mention All-Conference; and Austin Hudson, Honorable Mention All-Conference. Jackie Hill and Kaylee Kimmet were selected to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Women's Scholar All-West Region Honorable Mention.

The MSUB campus was alive with music! Faculty Recital; soprano, Kristy Dallas; mezzo-soprano, Darci Silbernagel; capstone presentation by Dr. Mark Fenderson; 40-voice University Chorus; senior euphonium recitals by Kirk Visser and Matthew Bowman; piano and vocal by Rachel Kathleen Weitz; percussion performance, by Ethan Gray; piano recital, by Chelsea Kenyon; and vocal performance, by Brock Boender.