## MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY

BOZEMAN | BILLINGS | NORTHERN | GREAT FALLS COLLEGE

CAMPUS REPORT | Board of Regents Meeting | May 21-22, 2015 | Kalispell



## MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY | BILLINGS

MSUB faculty were recognized for excellence in teaching, research and service to the campus and community. The Faculty Excellence recipients were: Dr. Kathe Gabel, Professor, Health and Human Performance; Dr. Tom Regele, Assistant Professor, Modern Languages & Literature; and Dr. Stephen Eliason, Professor, Sociology. Excellence for Non-Tenured Faculty was awarded to Dr. Paul Cook, Director, Center for Interdisciplinary Education; Excellence for Part-Time Faculty was presented to Dr. Lyle Seavy, Health Administration Program; and Mr. Vern Gagnon, Instructor, Automotive Technology, was recognized with the Leadership Award. Dr. Jennifer Lynn, Assistant Professor, History, was the recipient of the Winston & Helen Cox Fellowship Award. Ms. Reno Charette, Director, American Indian Outreach, was awarded the Dr. Tasneem Khaleel Award for Mentoring Young Female Professionals; Dr. Sarah Keller, Professor, Communication, recipient of the Outstanding Service Learning Award; and Ms. Melina Tilton, University Lecturer, Communication, was recognized for Promoting International Student Success Award. Faculty recognized by the Associated Students MSUB were: Mr. Patrick Hughes, Assistant Professor, Health & Human Performance; Mr. Randal Roberts, Instructor, Trades & Industry; Dr. Scott Harris, Associate Professor, Economics; Dr. Matt Queen, Assistant Professor, Analytical Chemistry; and Dr. Tessie Rose Bailey, Assistant Professor, Educational Theory and Practice.

Outstanding Alumni from MSUB were recognized: Troy Kane, Senior Sales Executive, Blue cross Blue Shield of Montana; Russell Nemetz, Ag Director, Northern Ag Network; and Jeffrey Jorgenson, Area Manager-Cattle Operations, King Ranch; all received honors for Exceptional Achievement in their fields. Gregg Allard, Special Education Instructor at MSUB, was the recipient of the Ronald P. Sexton Award, acknowledging an alumnus who has dedicated more than 10 years of his career to MSU Billings and who significantly contributed to the advancement of the University. The Alumni Merit Medallion, honoring an alumnus who is dedicated to the advancement of higher education, was presented to Deborah Hedrick. Deborah career spanned many years in health care. Named Vice President of Public Health at Riverstone Health in 2008, she was instrumental in facilitating their accreditation in Public Health. Distinguished Alumna accolades were presented to Donna Smith for her personal, professional and civic contributions while bringing a sense of honor, pride and recognition to the University community. While both Donna and her husband, Tony, were attending EMC, they opened the Tony Smith Photography. While serving on the Board of Directors of NAMI (National Alliance for the Mentally III), Donna taught families, providers and teachers on supporting, advocating and educating the mentally iII.

The MSUB Honors Program and the Office for Community Involvement invited the community to participate in a one-day food drive for the area food pantries. The donated food circle around the McMullen Hall building benefited Family Service, Inc. of Billings in an effort to relieve the food shortage in Yellowstone County.

MSUB junior Lacey Mogan, human services major, was named the 2015 Newman Civic Fellow. Lacey serves as Programming Chair for Student United Way, in charge of organizing service opportunities for students with many non-profit organizations in Billings. "Lacey serves wholeheartedly and with a genuine desire to make a difference," stated Chancellor Mark Nook. Mogan, from Hinsdale said, "I've been blessed with many opportunities to serve and to experience my community."